Call for Papers

Applied category theory is important to a growing community of researchers who study computer science, logic, engineering, physics, biology, chemistry, social science, systems, linguistics and other subjects using category-theoretic tools. The background and experience of our members is as varied as the systems being studied. The goal of the Applied Category Theory conference series is to bring researchers together, strengthen the applied category theory community, disseminate the latest results, and facilitate further development of the field.


We accept submissions in English of original research papers, talks about work accepted/submitted/published elsewhere, and demonstrations of relevant software. Accepted original research papers will be published in a proceedings volume. The conference will include an industry showcase event and community meeting. We particularly encourage people from underrepresented groups to submit their work and the organizers are committed to non-discrimination, equity, and inclusion.

  • Conference Papers should present original, high-quality work in the style of a computer science conference paper (up to 12 pages, not counting the bibliography; more detailed parts of proofs may be included in an appendix for the convenience of the reviewers). Such submissions should not be an abridged version of an existing journal article although pre-submission arXiv preprints are permitted. These submissions will be adjudicated for both a talk and publication in the conference proceedings.
  • Talk proposals not to be published in the proceedings, e.g. about work accepted/submitted/published elsewhere, should be submitted as abstracts, one or two pages long. Authors are encouraged to include links to any full versions of their papers, preprints or manuscripts. The purpose of the abstract is to provide a basis for determining the topics and quality of the anticipated presentation.
  • Software demonstration proposals should also be submitted as abstracts, one or two pages. The purpose of the abstract is to provide the program committee with enough information to assess the content of the demonstration.
The original conference papers will ultimately be published with EPTCS, and authors are advised to use the style files available at

Submission, dates and deadlines

Please submit your papers and talk proposals at: OpenReview. You will need to create an account or log in. Please tell OpenReview as much as you can about yourself, and your past papers, because it uses this to automatically calculate conflict of interest.

(Reviewing is single-blind, and we are not making public the reviews, reviewer names, the discussions nor the list of under-review submissions. This is the same as previous instances of ACT.)

Limited financial support will be available for travel. Priority will be given to people with financial need and those giving presentations. We are also aware that not everyone is able to travel to the US, e.g. for visa reasons, and we will accommodate that in the programme via remote participation etc.. Please contact the organisers for more information.

The exact deadline time on these dates is given by anywhere on earth (AoE).

Papers and Abstracts Due 3 May 2023 4 May 2023, due to OpenReview issues
Author Notification 7 June 2023
Conference 31 July – 4 August 2023

Program Committee Chairs

Program Committee

  • Benedikt Ahrens, Delft University of Technology and University of Birmingham
  • Mario Álvarez Picallo, Huawei
  • Matteo Capucci, University of Strathclyde
  • Titouan Carette, University of Latvia
  • Bryce Clarke, Inria Saclay Centre
  • Carmen Constantin, University of Oxford and University of Edinburgh
  • Geoffrey Cruttwell, Mount Allison University
  • Giovanni de Felice, Quantinuum
  • Bojana Femic, Serbian Academy of Sciences and Arts
  • Marcelo Fiore, University of Cambridge
  • Fabio Gadducci, University of Pisa
  • Richard Garner, Macquarie University
  • Neil Ghani, University of Strathclyde
  • Tamara von Glehn, DeepMind
  • Amar Hadzihasanovic, Tallinn University of Technology
  • Masahito Hasegawa, Kyoto University
  • Martha Lewis, University of Bristol
  • Sophie Libkind, Stanford University and Topos Institute
  • Rory Lucyshyn-Wright, Brandon University
  • Sandra Mantovanni, University of Milan
  • Jade Master, University of Strathclyde
  • Konstantinos Meichanetzidis, Quantinuum
  • Stefan Milius, FAU Erlangen-Nürnberg
  • Mike Mislove, Tulane University
  • Sean Moss, University of Oxford
  • David Jaz Myers, NYU Abu Dhabi
  • Susan Niefield, Union College
  • Jason Parker, Brandon University
  • Evan Patterson, Topos Institute
  • Paige Randall North, University of Utrecht
  • Sophie Raynor, James Cook University
  • Emily Roff, University of Edinburgh
  • Morgan Rogers, Université Sorbonne Paris Nord
  • Mario Román, Tallinn University of Technology
  • Maru Sarazola, John Hopkins University
  • Bas Spitters, Aarhus University
  • Sam Staton (co-chair), University of Oxford
  • Dario Stein, Radboud University Nijmegen
  • Eswaran Subrahmanian, NIST, CMU
  • Walter Tholen, York University
  • Christine Vespa, Aix-Marseille Université
  • Simon Willerton, University of Sheffield
  • Glynn Winskel, University of Strathclyde and University of Copenhagen and Huawei
  • Vladimir Zamdzhiev, INRIA
  • Fabio Zanasi, University College London
  • Zeinab Galal, Sorbonne University

Organizing Committee

  • James Fairbanks, University of Florida
  • Christina Vasilakopoulou, National Technical University of Athens
  • Sam Staton, Oxford University
  • Joe Moeller, National Institute for Standards and Technology, USA
  • Priyaa Varshinee Srinivasan, National Institute for Standards and Technology, USA

Steering Committee

  • John Baez, University of California, Riverside
  • Bob Coecke, Cambridge Quantum
  • Dorette Pronk, Dalhousie University
  • David Spivak, Topos Institute

Website based on a bootstrap design by Hartmut Eilers and Eric Koskinen.